Jay Woodcroft Snubbed by The NHL For Jack Adams Award Finalist

Published May 6, 2023 at 8:57

Well, the playoffs rage on into round two, and news continues to come out of the NHL Broadcasters Association of who our finalists are through various awards. Today the Jack Adams trophy which represents the best coach in the NHL, had its nominees mentioned.

The nominees are, Dave Hakstol of the Seattle Kraken, Jim Montgomery of the Boston Bruins and Lindy Ruff of the New Jersey Devils. All three coaches do have credentials and statistics to back the claim to being part of this nomination, however, one head coach seems to be missing and that would be Oilers head coach Jay Woodcroft.

Woodcroft led the Oilers to a 50-win season with a .665 winning percentage during the regular season. During the back half of the season, the Oilers put on an amazing run and put themselves second in their division behind the Vegas Golden Knights.

During his tenure with the Oilers, he has coached 120 games, won 76 with 32 losses and 12 overtime losses with a .683 winning percentage.

With a solid record in such short order and going to the conference finals in his first season as head coach, Woodcroft should have been considered a contender.
May 6   |   66 answers
Jay Woodcroft Snubbed by The NHL For Jack Adams Award Finalist

Who will win the Jack Adams Award?

Dave Hakstol710.6 %
Jim Montgomery57.6 %
Lindy Ruff710.6 %
Jay Woodcroft should have4771.2 %
Latest 10 stories